top of page

Uniting Girls to Change the World

The conversation is changing, and it is undeniable that female equality is advancing on a global level in 2017. While in some ways the improvements seem small, in others they are incredibly large. We’ve got nasty women, global female leaders in a variety of sectors, women are getting more rights in countries around the world and a wave of females are coming out against abuses and misconduct from men.

However, these steps forward have actually raised the red flag as to how bad gender issues really are.

While I feel passionately about the equality of women, as a confident and outspoken female I oftentimes have not known the struggle of so many women. That is, until I moved to Rwanda. Rwanda is one of the most progressive countries in Africa. and has made far more gains for women’s rights than almost any other country on the continent. With 64% of parliament seats held by women Rwanda has the highest rate in the world. Gender rights are enshrined in the constitution and laws support women inheriting land, sharing assets in marriage, and obtaining credit. However, during my time here, I have been more aware of the fact that I am a women than ever before. I sometimes feel it in the form of being explained something in a condescending or patronizing tone and other times my opinion is outright ignored. Also, I see it in the eyes of the Rwandan girls and women I have gotten to know in Rwanda. Once one of the female teenagers at ASYV told me I'm her hero. When I asked her why she said that she had once saw me driving a car around campus and it made her realize that she could do the same, even though she is a girl.

Learning how to deal with this, and better yet, gain the respect of men to prove I have just as much value as them, as do all the women and girls in Rwanda, has proved an interesting hurdle of the year. And, as my time here has moved forward, I’ve become more and more interested on what changes can, and in some cases, are already being done to address this. As a sidenote, it should be acknowledged that this is by no means a Rwanda problem. Women experience these sentiments all across the globe.

One of those ways was by being the Girl Up advisor for our ASYV chapter. While I was hesitant to take the role due to my busy job, I knew it was a great opportunity to work for a cause I deeply believe in and meet the bright and passionate ladies of Girl Up (although at the time I had no idea how impressive they really are). In this role, I would help set goals, keep meetings on track and support with brainstorming and logistics for various events… but of course, like any role, I would learn SO much more than I had expected as well.

As the Girl Up website mentions "Girls are powerful. When they’re educated, healthy, and safe, they transform their communities. When girls stand up for girls in need, they empower each other and transform our world. As the United Nations Foundation’s adolescent girl campaign, Girl Up engages girls to take action. Led by a community of nearly half a million passionate advocates raising awareness and funds, our efforts help the hardest to reach girls living in places where it is hardest to be a girl." For more information, click here.

In many ways, this is the first time that some female students at ASYV can access their full potential. Throughout the year we focused on helping ASYV girls understand women deserve equal rights to men, encouraging them to support other women, and challenging how things are currently done. They can dream, think big, challenge themselves and thrive. They begin to realize that they truly are equal to men and you see the progression of them opening up, talking louder, raising their hand in class and asking for what they want. We encouraged this in a variety of ways including events like visiting Genocide surviving widows at their homes with food and clothes and bead making workshops to learn a new skill and have the capability to teach it to other. We also had panel sessions of powerful and inspiring women from across Rwanda and abroad and presentations from our members about Girl Up and the importance of empowering others. These activities provided the opportunity for our females to learn and grow in a safe space, building confidence before my eyes.

Our end of year event, the Girl2Girl Ceremony, really showed me this transformation. With performances of poetry, songs, and dances, by our members, boys who support Girl Up, local leadership and a guest from abroad, you can see just how much girls can accomplish. While I knew this group of ladies had the ability to really make great change happen, this event solidified that in my mind. Fearlessness. Determination. Honesty. Intelligence. They exhibited it all. I believe this generation will be the one to revise history with regards to women's development.

I feel confident leaving Rwanda in these girls' capable hands. I can't wait to see what incredible things they'll will do for the world.

Sources: https://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2014/apr/07/rwanda-women-empowered-impoverished


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page