top of page

We all have the power to change the world

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about meaning. Most days of my life when I wake up in the morning, my mind immediately goes to my to-do list of lofty goals and hopeful epiphanies around ‘how am I making a difference in the world’ and ‘who am I and how can I be better.”

In doing this, I oftentimes feel like I am failing. Why? Because my definitions for ‘meaning’, ‘making a difference’ and ‘self improvement’ come with the baggage of being my own harshest critic and in many ways are plain old unrealistic for one person. As I’ve started to find my footing in the Village this past week, I’ve noticed that ASYV has begun to provide me with clues on how to conquer these internal barriers that I’ve been trying to break down for years.

Finding #1: People need very little to be happy

You can see this right when you walk through the gates of the Village. Community is the word and sharing everything is the attitude. Food, humor, clothes, a shoulder for your tears, etc. This is just one way I’ve seen the Village transform people’s most serious problems into a haven for love and support.

The other day I brought my girls back one piece of chocolate each from my trip to Kigali and I kid you not, they haven’t stopped thanking me for the past 5 days! After living in the Western world, which I oftentimes associate with gluttony and fear of scarcity, it is so refreshing to be a member of a community where I can work on washing those nasty qualities away.

Finding #2: This shit is hard!

I know no one has ever said self-discipline and growth are easy, but geez are they hard to uphold! As I have had new and sometimes challenging revelations since I’ve gotten to the Village, I continue to focus on honing my thoughts and behaviors into a person I strive to be…while also being kind and open with myself in the process. It’s not fun, but I know it’s a part of the reason I came to the Village.

Luckily for me, the kids (and staff) are constantly telling me I’m beautiful, smart and that I have a big heart, which helps me remember it myself! The other day my Mama led the entire family in a prayer for me, just because she felt like it. If that doesn’t bring good vibes my way, who knows what will. As I continue to work on letting vulnerability be my friend instead of my enemy, I encourage anyone who has some tips on making that process easier to send them my way :)

Finding #3: Working together will change the world

The ASYV concept of “it takes a Village” is actually what it is all about. Sure, one person’s achievements are amazing. But together – imagine what can be accomplished?

When Anne Heyman set out to create a youth village for the orphaned survivors of the Rwandan Genocide, she by no means did it alone. Yes, her vision was the foundation for the Village, but the resources and support she received, came from many others, and that is what made it come alive.

With Tikkun Olam or “repairing the world” at the center of the Village’s philosophy, each student has the opportunity to make a difference. It is a chance for them to lead the way in paying it forward to others, and doing their own good for those in needs.

The Village is a place where each of us has our own goals, our own roles, and our own families. But our mission – to help improve the lives of these children – is most important. With that purpose in mind, we can work together to help one kid, who can then change the life of another, and from there, we can all change the world.

As a quoteaholic, below are a few of my favorite quotes that support the above sentiments. Happy inspirations!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page